Blackpool, Lesson 10, and the Rediscovery of Breathing

Happy Tuesday, ballroom dancers! Did everyone have a beautiful Blackpool weekend?

How amazing were those finals?! We’ll talk about those in a second.

So, last week I had lesson ten with Matt. He’s mean and said he was going to do the following, but I was hoping he’d forgotten: we’d dance our round backwards. What that means is we’d start with jive, then dance rumba, then samba, then cha cha.

The only thing is, he perused our jive routine and marked it twice, adding some things along the way. THEN we danced it full-out three times.

My teacher has way too much energy. By the third time through the jive, I was pretty winded and my feet were killing me, which was only exacerbated by the rumba and the samba after.

The sad thing is, I’d always thought I was pretty decent in cha cha, but I’ve learned it’s my weakest dance; I kind of blur all the counts together so you can’t really tell what dance it is -_-

On the up hand, I’ve started running and although I hate it, I’ve learned something already: I’ve forgotten to breathe when I dance. I went through the DanceComp Review archives and happened to find this article: BREATHING in Ballroom Dance. It actually was really helpful – when I run, I find I actually have significantly better endurance when I breathe through my nose the whole time. I know when you’re out of breath, you tend to begin to pant and it definitely sounds counterintuitive to breathe through your nose, but it works.

So, Blackpool!

Riccardo and Yulia won Pro Latin!

Riccardo & Yulia, Blackpool 2017 Pro Latin Champions

Stefano and Dasha were runners-up. Dorin Frecautanu & Marina Sergeeva, in their debut as pros, came in third.

OOOOH, also, Riccardo and Yulia got married in Italy yesterday!

They look so happy! I hope they have a lifetime full of bliss together.

Pro Ballroom was one of my favorite moments ever. Victor Fung and Anastasia Muravyeva, my favorite ballroom couple, won it!

Victor & Anastasia, Blackpool 2017 Pro Ballroom Champions

It was a really beautiful moment to behold. Victor shot out onto the floor and then collapsed, and Anastasia ran out to him. He and Anastasia had a very private moment in front of all these people, and I feel kind of honored to have been able to see it.

Amateur Latin was also won by an American couple, Fernando Iannaccone & Yulia Musikhina, won this. What made this final even better, and I feel like I’m not alone in thinking this because there’s been a huge outpouring of love over this all around the internet, is that Austin Joson and Nino Dzneladze made this final – and not only that, they placed fifth! It’s amazing and well deserved – they are both incredibly talented and work very hard.

Okay, okay. I have a lesson tonight and have a couple things I need to get done before that. I leave you with this video of Justinas and Anna’s incredible rumba show at Blackpool:

Leave a Reply

