International Championships 2015 and Slavik & Karina

Howdy, ballroom dancers!

I’ve had a really productive day so I wanted to finish it off with posting one of the blog entries I promised. And since I think it’d be corny to write about Dancing With the Stars two entries – let alone two days – in a row, the 2015 International Championships it is.

Sadly, I’m unable to find a ton of media from the competition. I’ve spent the past half hour just looking for photos of the finalist lineups and have barely been able to find any media at all!

Here’s some of the tiny bit of media I found for you! First, the final rumba. I love how the Italian men are so romantic!

So, onto the results!

Pro Latin
(1) Riccardo Cocchi & Yulia Zagoruychenko (USA)
(2) Mauricio Vescovo & Andra Vaidilaite (Canada)
(3) Stefano di Filippo & Daria Chesnokova (USA)
(4) Troels Bager & Ina Jeliazkova (Denmark)
(5) Evgeniy Smagin & Polina Kazachenko (Russia)
(6) Neil Jones & Ekaterina Jones (England)

Here’s the other really nice one I found – Riccardo and Yulia’s honor dance!

Pro Ballroom
(1) Arunas Bizkoas & Katusha Demidova (USA)
(2) Victor Fung & Anastasia Muravyeva (USA)
(3) Andrea Ghigiarelli & Sara Andracchio (England)
(4) Valerio Colantoni & Monica Nigro (Italy)
(5) Domen Krapez & Natascha Karabey (Germany)
(6) Alexander Zhiratkov & Irina Novozhilova (Russia)

Amateur Latin
(1) Nikita Brovko & Olga Urumova (Russia)
(2) Morten Low & Roxy (Denmark)
(3) Fernando Iannaccone & Yulia Musikhina (USA)
(4) Klemen Prasnikar & Alexander Averkieva (Slovenia)
(5) Manuel Frighetto & Karin Rooba (Estonia)
(6) Damir Haluzan & Anna Mashchyts (Slovenia)

Amateur Ballroom
(1) Sergiu Rusu & Dorota Makar (Poland)
(2) He Chong & Shan Jing (China)
(3) Lukasz Tomczak & Aleksandra Jurczak (Poland)
(4) Diego Arias Prado & Ekaterina Ermolina (Russia)
(5) Kyle Taylor & Izabela Skierska (England)
(6) Fedor Isaev & Anna Zudilina (Russia)

I don’t really keep up with Ballroom as much as I should, but OUCH that the USA had no amateur international finalists.

On another hand, I’m intrigued by Manuel and Karin’s placing 5th in amateur Latin. I remember an Embassy Ball a few years back (I want to say it was 2012) where that same couple entered and placed 5th behind the likes of Pasha Pashkov & Daniella Karagach and Denys Drozdyuk & Antonina Skobina. Not to put down Manuel and Karen’s result here, but given the previous evidence, I’m guessing that not a ton of amateur couples went to this competition?

I also somehow feel the pro Latin field looks so much different even from just a year ago! Last year, the champions were Michael Malitowski and Joanna Leunis, Riccardo and Yulia were second, and Stefano and Dasha were fifth. It is, however, so exciting to me that new couples are coming up!

Speaking of new couples, I’m going to jump over to the other end of the spectrum and show you an old couple that we all love. We’ve found out from her instagram that Slavik and Karina are working together again! I’m guessing they’re practicing for some new shows. In succession, a cha cha, samba, and paso!

I thought their showdances at the Kremlin Cup were beautiful, so I can’t wait to see the legendary shows that come out of this go-around! Are you as excited as I am?!

Leave a Reply

