2015 Embassy Ball & USDC and…MY TEACHER!!!

HI, DANCERS!!!!!!!

This is just a quick post to talk about basically the two biggest competitions in the U.S. before Dancing With the Stars premieres tonight!

Embassy Ball was the week before last. Here are the results! All photos came from the DanceBeat articles covering the two events!

Pro Smooth

2015 Embassy Ball Pro Smooth Results

2015 Embassy Ball Pro Smooth Results

(1) Peter & Alexandra Perzhu (1,1,1,1)
(2) Mazen Hamza & Izabella Jundill (2,2,3,2)
(3) Yegor Novikov & Aleksandra Smirnova (4,3,2,3)
(4) Nick Cheremukhin & Viktorija (3,4,5,4)
(5) Travis & Jaimee Tuft (5,5,4,5)
(6) Kyle & Allie Spinder (6,6,6,6)

The placings here were interesting, huh? And another thing, as a fashion lover, I found out – Allie Spinder is wearing pants! Apparently, the audience was polled about their opinions and 80% of the audience didn’t like her outfit. But then again, that’s just something we’re not used to seeing. I like women who do things differently!

Pro Rhythm

2015 Embassy Ball Pro Rhythm Results

2015 Embassy Ball Pro Rhythm Results

(1) Emmanuel Pierre-Antoine & Liana Churilova (1,1,1,1,1)
(2) Nazar Norov & Irina Kudryashova (2,2,2,2,2)
(3) Mikhail Vlasov & Vanda Polakova (3,3,3,3,3)
(4) Danus Jaksevicious & Yuki Haraguchi (4,4,4,4,4)
(5) Dmytro Gurkov & Betty Attia (Canada – 5,5,5,6,6)
(6) Donovan Dominguez & Rose Dimov (6,6,6,5,5)

I know this is not relevant, but I had no idea any couples from out of this country danced Rhythm. Or Smooth. I mean, it is AMERICAN…

Pro Ballroom

2015 Embassy Ball Pro Standard Results

2015 Embassy Ball Pro Standard Results

(1) Arunas Bizokas & Katusha Demidova (1,1,1,1,1)
(2) Victor Fung & Anastasiya Muravyeva (2,2,2,2,2)
(3) Andrea & Sarah Ghigiarelli (England – 3,3,3,3,3)
(4) Valerio Colantoni & Monica Nigro (Italy – 4,4,4,5,4)
(5) Domen Krapez & Natasha Karabey (Germany – 5,5,5,4,5)
(6) Alexander Zhiratkov & Irina Novozhilova (Russia – 7,6,6,7,6)
(7) Marat Gimaev & Alina Basyuk (6,7,7,6,7)

Pro Latin

2015 Embassy Ball Pro Latin Results

2015 Embassy Ball Pro Latin Results

(1) Riccardo Cocchi & Yulia Zagoruychenko (1,1,1,1,1)
(2) Maurizio Vescovo & Andra Vaidilaite (Canada – 2,2,2,2,2)
(3) Stefano Di Filippo & Daria Chesnokova (3,3,3,3,3)
(4) Troels Bager & Ina Jeliazkova (Denmark – 4,4,4,4,4)
(5) Manuel Favilla & Natalia Maidiuk (Ukraine – 5,5,6,6,5)
(6) Kamil Studenny & Anna Pelypenko (6,6,5,5,6)

This is all well and good, but where are Roman Kutskyy & Anna Kovalova?! (I would say Nikolai and Maria too, but they showed up at USDC.) I’ve seen from their social media that Roman and Anna have been going on vacations and I was wondering if they’ve stopped dancing. However, she posted a picture on her Instagram last week announcing she is back to her original dress sponsor, Dore Designs. Aside from the fact that Dore is one of my favorite design houses, I REALLY hope this means we’ll see her and Roman competing again because she is absolutely one of my top 5 favorite lady dancers!

Oh, one more thing about Embassy.

2015 Embassy Ball RS Rhythm Results

2015 Embassy Ball RS Rhythm Results

I want to give a little shoutout to Brianna Santiago, who, with Igor Ustymovich, won the Pro Rising Star Rhythm! This is just a little bit of Latina solidarity. There aren’t a lot of hispanics in the ballroom world, so I’ve been following her dancesport career for a while, dancing Rhythm with Ryan Lockhart, then Latin with Hunter Stephens and Stefan Golubovic, and now back to Rhythm. And again, you don’t see very many Latinos in dancesport, let alone women, let alone in the finals, so it’s just so amazing to see one of my own doing so well!

Let’s go on to USDC. I WISH I WAS THERE!!!

I don’t understand the difference between the different Professional competitions, especially because most of the couples do compete in both of them, but as I’m in a hurry to get this published before 8PM, this is not the time for me to figure it out.

Pro Ballroom

2015 USDC Pro Ballroom Results

2015 USDC Pro Ballroom Results

(1) Arunas Bizokas & Katusha Demidova (1,1,1,1,1)
(2) Victor Fung & Anastasiya Muravyeva (as usual, THAT GOWN!!! Beautiful! 2,2,2,2,2)
(3) Murat Gimaev & Alina Basyuk (3,3,3,3,4)
(4) Artem Plakhotnyi & Inna Berlizyeva (4,4,5,4,3)
(5) Alexander Voskalchuk & Veronica Egorova (5,5,4,5,6)
(6) Mikhail Avdeev & Olga Blinova (6,6,6,6,5)

Pro Latin

2015 USDC Pro Latin Results

2015 USDC Pro Latin Results

(1) Riccardo Cocchi & Yulia Zagoruychenko (1,1,1,1,1)
(2) Nikolai Voronovich & Maria Nikolishina (2,3,2,2,3)
(3) Andrei Kazlouski & Asta Sigvaldadottir (3,2,3,3,2)
(4) Andrey Tarasov & Yulia Kuznetsova (4,4,4,4,4)
(5) Mykha Bilopukhov & Anastasiya Shchipilina (5,5,5,5,5)
(6) Roman Italyankin & Alexandra Bokova (6,6,6,6,6)

Okay, I’ve always been a great speller, but even after all this time, spelling these Slavik names is really exhausting. Especially because half the time, I see the same people’s names spelled differently!
But I digress. Pro Smooth

2015 USDC Pro Smooth Results

2015 USDC Pro Smooth Results

(1) Peter & Alexandra Perzhu (1,1,1,1)
(2) Mazen Hamza & Izabella (3,2,3,3)
(3) Mikhail & Galina Zharinov (that dress is BEAUTIFUL – in motion, especially – 2,4,4,2)
(4) Yegor Novikov & Aleksandra Smirnova (4,3,2,4)
(5) Nick Cheremukhin & Viktorija (5,5,6,5)
(6) Travis & Jaimee Tuft (6,6,5,6)

Aleksandra’s name was spelled differently in both the articles I got these results from. I think I’m tired.

2015 USDC Pro Rhythm Results

2015 USDC Pro Rhythm Results

(1) Emmanuel Pierre-Antoine & Liana Churilova (1,1,1,1,1)
(2) Nazar Norov & Irina Kudryashova (2,2,2,2,2)
(3) Andre & Natalie Paramonov (3,3,3,3,3)
(4) Mikhail Vlasov & Vanda Polakova (4,4,4,4,4)
(5) Danus Jaksevicious & Yuki Haraguchi (5,5,6,5,6)
(6) Vard Margaryan & Mandy Carlisle (6,6,5,6,5)

TIRED.

BUT!

I think it’s time I reveal my teacher. Because this was a big deal.

Dancers…ladies and gentlemen…my dance teacher is…

MATT HAUER!!!

Matt Hauer & Lauren Schelfhaudt, 2015 National Mambo Champions

Matt Hauer & Lauren Schelfhaudt, 2015 National Mambo Champions

I was going to wait to tell you who he was until I introduced myself completely, but I couldn’t – I’m too proud of him. He and his absolutely gorgeous pro rhythm partner, Lauren Schelfhaudt, won the national mambo championship for the second year in a row. I am beyond thrilled for him. Matt is a fantastic dancer, incredible teacher, and even more than all that, he really is one of the most amazing human beings I have ever met. He’s one of those people who if I ever met anyone who had a bad word to say against him, I likely would immediately distrust them – everyone I have ever met adores him! I know what a hard worker he is and so they absolutely deserve this win! YAY MATTY!

Okay, okay. I hope he doesn’t ever find out about this, because he’ll blush. HAH! Just picturing what he would do is making me laugh.

All righty, dancers. For more dance, we will tune in to tonight’s premiere of Dancing With the Stars! Can you believe it’s season 21? I also found out some interesting, but not necessarily surprising, news. Not only is there now a three-judge panel, but Julianne Hough, my future sister-in-law, is now the head judge! I think I like it! As long as she doesn’t do what Len did and always push the agenda of “the people upstairs”, that is…

But it shouldn’t really matter to me because I stopped watching the judges’ critiques in season 18.

I have a good feeling about season 21! I hope it ends up being good, clean fun and that we can just sit back and enjoy all the dancing. Good vibes, good vibes! I’ll report back!

Leave a Reply

