Lesson 14: Cha Cha DONE!

Happy Hump Day, dancers! What’s shaking?

I feel like I hadn’t written or done anything dance related in forever. It was really an odd week.

Teach is going to competition next week (and I’m guessing this week as well), so my lessons are Tuesdays for the time being. I had yet another good one yesterday. I’ve just been working on my lock steps lately and trying to get the legs right so that I get that slithery action in my body. Because that, to me, is the fun part.

Teach asked me if I’d written anything on cha cha, since we started doing bits and pieces of choreography last time. Fragments. There were fragments.

Maurizio Vescovo & Andra Vaidilaite, 2013 Milennium Dancesport, (c) Stephen Marino

Maurizio Vescovo & Andra Vaidilaite, 2013 Milennium Dancesport, (c) Stephen Marino

Andra is such a stunningly beautiful woman. And the passion between her and Maurizio is insane.

I’m not sure how it happened, but not only did he choreograph the entire routine AND we danced it like four times, but we went through the entire thing and fixed a lot of technical things. I’m mostly having trouble, I think, with making my feet super clear on the chasses. And there’s one part I always forget to do the forward lock into my spiral. Which is actually hysterical.

It was even funnier when Vibeke (yes, THE Vibeke Toft), while teaching her lesson, just happened to put on “Corazon Espinado” by Mana featuring Carlos Santana. It’s probably my favorite cha cha song! Teach grabbed my hand and we danced the routine. I forgot a lot of things because I got excited. So I learned about myself that I can’t dance when I like the music because I go kind of crazy. Or maybe I just need to practice.

Also, I’m not understanding why this happened, but it’s awesome. My feet look a lot better in cha cha because on pretty much everything, I’m stepping with my foot turned out. WHY can I not do this in rumba? Like I’ve said before, I want to be a more technical dancer, so I guess I could practice with one body part at a time. Feet first? Core? Or no?

Oh, one more thing. Have you seen So You Think You Can Dance? I’ve only seen, so far, the premiere episode. I think the whole Stage vs. Street theme they’re doing is really interesting, but ballroom dancers already don’t always do so well on the show. With Stage vs. Street, it looks like ballroom will be almost obsolete. I hope I’m wrong.

I leave you with this! Maurizio and Andra’s paso performance at Millennium. Because – this isn’t exactly new news, but – the 2015 Millennium Dancesport Championships are going to be televised! What do you think of this? I’m excited, but I hope it’s better than America’s Ballroom Challenge. Not that I think it was terrible, just the scripting on the commentary felt very contrived and I wish they had shown more of the heats. But I was also just really happy there was more ballroom on television!

Leave a Reply

