Lesson 11: Do the Cha Cha Cha & DWTS: The Finals

What’s going on, dancers?

I had a lesson with Teach today and afterwards, ended up going to my “gym” for a workout. I wasn’t planning on doing it, but I wandered uptown for some sushi and realized I was a few blocks away, so I might as well. I’m exhausted. I totally fell asleep on the train ride home.

Going back, my lesson with Teach today. We went through the rumba routine (I need to make a note to ask him what the end of it is because I haven’t written it down so I keep forgetting). I need to learn to get more extension in…well, everything. But I do see my improvement.

So today, he decided we should start Cha Cha. I’ll admit, today was one of those days when I have a lag in my mental comprehension. It felt like he said “How about Cha Cha?” and I just absently gaped at him and finally answered 10 minutes later with a, “Yeeeaaahhh.”

Stefano Di Filippo & Anna Melnikova dance Cha Cha at the 2008 World Amateur Latin Championships

Stefano Di Filippo & Anna Melnikova dance Cha Cha at the 2008 World Amateur Latin Championships

Does anyone else miss this partnership? I came into Dancesport later than I would have liked so they weren’t even dancing together anymore, but I wish I’d seen them dance in person. They had some explosive energy.

Have I ever said that I’m amazed at how he knows the order to teach things so that it all makes sense to me? We started cha cha with lock steps. They’re interesting, lock steps. Or maybe it’s just cha cha in general that’s interesting. Teach said the timing is consistent (I’m not sure I believe that, but we’ll see), but the dynamics of every step are different. So in my mind, I’m likening the lock steps to the Sliding Doors.

Already, I’m having trouble with something really basic: taking longer strides. I have a kind of hilarious tendency to take really small steps. I imagined a while back that he would quiz me on stride size by suddenly stopping me mid-step and seeing if his foot could fit between mine. The thought of that is kind of scary but also really funny. But that’s just something else for me to keep in mind in general, I guess. I also tend to rush in cha cha, I think, but ah well.

There isn’t much to say about it.

I didn’t want to watch last night’s episode Dancing With the Stars, but I might as well do it now. They’re announcing the winner tonight. I hope it’s Riker! I just saw his freestyle encore by accident and it was a really cool dance. Not what I expected to see at all. I’m not sure what I expected to see from him, but it wasn’t that. I just hope everyone didn’t spend all their time voting only for his encore. It made me happy, though, that every time I tried phone voting for hours (I have no idea how long the lines were open), his line was busy. Fingers crossed. I still did a lot of online voting, though. I feel kind of corny that I’m still watching Dancing With the Stars, let alone voting, but I’ll just have to accept it.

Round 1: Re-Do (I don’t think I like redos, but whatever)
Noah & Sharna – I didn’t even watch him. She definitely danced it better…oh no, he flubbed. Aww.

Riker & Allison – he was some surprise this season. And not that it matters, but I stalked Allison’s Instagram last night and she and tWitch are just such soulmates, I can’t deal. It’s too adorable. Anyway, onto the dance. He brought some new ferocity to this performance but still kept the original speed and the precision and actually was much more controlled. YAAAAASSSSS CAPTAIN SPARROW! I didn’t even look at anyone else in the ballroom this entire time. The crowd reaction – and the judges’ – was more than appropriate. Okay, now a redo round makes sense.

Rumer & Val – she still danced gorgeously, but…she didn’t show a ton of improvement. I’m not saying she wasn’t better at all, but her improvement wasn’t so visible. Which is odd because this was a dance she did three months ago. I’m kind of surprised.

Round 2: Freestyles
Noah & Sharna – what a pair. I love this song (Titanium). Not sure why of everything, what got to me was his hand in the spotlight. I’ll be honest, I don’t really “get” contemporary, but this dance spoke to you. This was a real human moment. Poetry in motion. Impressive job on that star lift. I’m really glad Sharna finally got the credit this season she’s had coming for seasons. I love that he’s so grateful and humbled for/by this experience.

Riker & Allison – I’m so happy for Allison. Ooh, and his pants aren’t so super tight this time. This was really cool. I loved the use of the speed changes in that song and how Riker just went for it. And he was great in that last part where he danced with the troupe. That dance really did have everything. It’s insane how at times, you think you’re watching Derek because he has that something that Derek has. Perfect night, well deserved. And again, Riker was a total surprise for me. I really thought as a member of a boy band (?) he would be a tool, really arrogant, but he’s been an absolute charmer this entire season.

Rumer & Val – she’s gorgeous. I really can’t think of any words to describe her. I think this was her best dance. I just wonder why they decided to do this, basically, Argentine tango. I did love the dance, though.

Oh boy, I’ve gone through the entire show and it’s only ten after 10. I’m already a wreck. Good GOD, is Henry sexy. But this Magic Mike XXL thing was a bit much, I think.

I hate watching the finale live. OOH, Derek and Julianne and some kids are doing a contemporary. WOW, that was SICK!!! More Emmy bait…WHO CHOREOGRAPHED IT?

Caught a glimpse of Patti’s “In Da Club”. HOW is she so fabulous and what was Robert doing there? HAH! Okay, I’m seriously nervous. I’ll just watch Dance Moms in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

