Lesson 6: Finally…LET’S DANCE!!!

What’s shaking, dancers?

Got to the studio today and saw, I guess, who I’m realizing is the usual crowd. Some of there are there all the time when I go, but it’s still exciting. Even if I end up being creepy because I try really hard not to be conspicuous when I stare at them.

Was stretching and still messing around with Sliding Doors when Teach arrived. “Sooooo how was practice?” he asked. “It didn’t go well,” I kind of mumbled. Not being the most patient person because I learn so fast, practice really frustrated me because, I don’t know why this was, I couldn’t pick up very much speed on the hip twists. It was kind of mortifying. Upon hearing this, Teach made a mental checklist of things for us to go over. I get that he’s been on the scene forever and has taught tons of students, but I don’t know how he does this. I’m so absentminded I won’t remember anything after five minutes if I don’t write it down.

So there was more practice of my base. And it’s not as bad as I think it is. We got into some rumba choreography, just so Teach could make some points that he wanted me to start thinking about.

Valentin Chmerkovskiy & Daria Chesnokova 2011 UK Open Rumba solo

Valentin Chmerkovskiy & Daria Chesnokova 2011 UK Open Rumba solo

 

GEEZ, I miss these two together. Of course, Dasha is now dancing on another level as a professional with Stefano now, but I’ve always preferred to watch amateur competitors because they are just so hungry. This dance, though! It was some months before Val retired, but it is just poetry in motion. As for this dress, the effect of the white rhinestones on the black is absolutely breathtaking, but I probably would have gone just slightly shorter in the front.

Coming back, it’s a really weird thing. Of course, we go into lessons BURNING to dance. We know in our heads that we need to build our foundation first. (Still doesn’t make it fun, practicing technique so much you can’t even stand in your shoes anymore.) So I instantly got giddy when he took my hand and got into position to start a rumba. I keep getting really silly and smiley when I actually dance, it’s been such a long time.

Except then when you first dance again, it doesn’t feel as…seamless? Is that the word I’m looking for? It definitely does not feel the same – I, at least, felt like I lost everything I’d learned for the past six weeks. Teach said, as I thought, that wasn’t so, because he would have pointed it out. Maybe it’s more in my body than I realize; I didn’t really think about doing it.

And even more, I felt like I was definitely missing my “signature” hips. On my first go-around in the ballroom, I had insane hip action. I feel like they’re not moving at all. But at the same time, I’m working a lot of other mechanics that I’ve just learned that I didn’t have the first time. So I’m guessing that the cascading hips that everyone in the studio knew me for will come back soon enough. They better.

That reminds me, since always dancing in very snug 3.5″ shoes all the time is slightly brutal, I have some shopping to do. I know in my mind I should just buy practice sneakers, but I don’t want to get used to dancing in shoes that aren’t anything like what I’ll be wearing in competition or a showcase. Not to mention the look of them doesn’t appeal to me in the slightest. (Shallow? Perhaps. I have a dreamer/artist mind, so I am all about the aesthetics.)

I’m intending to buy these Earth Therapeutics gel socks. I found them in Kohls once (you can find them in store at Bed, Bath & Beyond) and they saved my dancing feet the first time around. The inner gel coating makes it feel like you’re walking in clouds and if you keep them on long enough – a few hours will do – they totally heal up your feet. So you won’t even be able to see the effects of these gorgeous but simultaneously torturous strappy Latin sandals. Those of us who brutalize our feet all need these socks!!! You’ll thank me later :)))))))

Leave a Reply

